Nipsad’s Blog

My diet and other interesting stuff.

Trust Me!!!

Sushi lovers will travel great distances for quality.  I have been called a sushi snob  and I am not going to disagree.  Some of my favorite Sushi Restaurants are from California.  But we are going to keep this post focused on New York.  Sticking to the Upper East Side, Sushi lovers have their local favorites, but good Sushi is worth a cab ride.  I happen to be very lucky, because some of the best sushi in New York is located in Mid-Town and on the UES.  In the 80’s you have Tokubei 86 which happens to be a GREAT local sushi restaurant; try the Tokubei Roll.   In the 60’s you have Sushi Seki which I have to say is unbelievable.  In the 40’s you have Seo and Sushi Yasuda both very good; with Yasuda being some peoples favorite. 

Now if you want the BEST SUSHI, the GEM and least heard of restaurant, you need to go to the 70’s.  Not only do you need to TRUST ME, you need to TRUST Kenji the Owner and Chef.  At this restaurant, you can not place an order.  YOU need to trust the chef.  He will bring keep bringing you sushi until he see that you are full.  He will also serve what he believes is appropriate for your taste buds.  Not to worry if you don’t like the exotic fish.  He mostly serves melt in you mouth sushi.  If you seem up to it, he will start to serve you Japanese favorites like Clam, Uni, and Ikura.  I met Kenji in California and only ate sushi when I traveled.  When he moved to NY all my dreams came through.  Not including when I met my wife.  If you live in New York or if you are just visiting, you have to try Sushi Sasabune.

There are no spicy Tuna rolls.  There are no combo sushi dishes.  Just REALLY GOOD Sushi and Sashimi. 

You will get one surprise roll at the end.  Please let me know what you think.  TRUST ME or at least Kenji.

March 1, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment